Craniofacial Research Instrumentation Laboratory

The orthodontic department is excited to congratulate Dr. Ali Ghowsi for receiving the AAO’s 2022 Thomas M. Graber Award of Special Merit for the paper titled “Accuracy and reliability of a fully automated landmark identification system on cone-beam computed tomography.”

Dr. Ghowsi is one of four recipients of the prestigious Thomas M. Graber Award and is invited to speak at the AAO’s Annual Session in Miami.  He will be presented the award during the Excellence in Orthodontics Luncheon & Awards Ceremony at the AAO meeting.  It is a significant accomplishment as our program is a 27-month residency program (all other award recipients are from 36-month programs).

In addition, two other Class of 2021 graduates, Dr. Laura Chew and Dr. Tae Keong (Cindy) Kim, were also selected to present their research papers for the Oral Research Presentation at the AAO meeting.  The Class of 2021 indeed raised the bar and are great role models for fellow residents.